Brief description of the district

Gujranwala District is situated on the main railway line connecting Lahore and Peshawar. The Grand Trunk Road runs parallel to the railway line and passes through the centre of the city, mostly the old city being on the west and new abadies on the east. The Chenab river forms the northern boundary of the district. Beyond the river, it is bounded by Gujrat and Mandi Bahauddin districts, on the east by Sialkot district, on the south by Sheikhupura district and on the west by Hafizabad district.

Gujranwala district is spread over an area of 3,622 Square Kilometres and comprises the seven Towns of:

i) Khiali Shah Pur Town

ii) Qila Dedar Singh Town

iii) Aroop Town

iv) Nandi Pur Town

v) Wazirabad Town

vi) Kamoke Town

vii) Nowshera Virkan Town

viii) Contonment

Climate and general soil conditions

The climate of the district is hot and dry during summer and moderately cold in winter. The summer season starts in April and continues till September. June is the hottest month with maximum and minimum temperatures of 40ºC and 27ºC, respectively. Relief is only provided by occasional dust storms. The winter season begins in November and lasts till March. January is the coldest month. The maximum and minimum temperatures during this month are 19ºC and 5ºC, respectively. The sky is frequently overcast during winter with meagre rainfall. The monsoons set in July and continue till September. The eastern part of the district receives more rain. The average annual rainfall in the district is 888 millimetres.
The soil is alluvial and fertile. It is a flat strip of land running roughly east to west.